One man’s Halloween

“I don’t know, honest-to-god. You can ask me all about Halloween and I don’t know, I swear to God I don’t know. It has something to do with Salem. What do you call ’em—witches, spooks? I guess we celebrate it for the spirits, witches, scarin’ people. I used to put a sheet on and cover my head and stand behind a big tree. Now this is gonna sound silly to you, but I’m serious. I used to scare the shit out of all the girls. I didn’t have anything on them, they were smarter than I was. I used to ask them things, and I couldn’t stand them. I’d scare them and they’d run home screamin’ to their mothers! Pumpkins and all that bullshit.”

By David Greenberger (and residents of the Duplex Planet) who worked as an activities director at a small, all-male nursing home in Boston from 1979 to 1983. This experience launched his ongoing project, The Duplex Planet (www.duplexplanet.com). The first year he was there he talked with the residents about Halloween.

About Jade

Words: eclectic, Witchy, empath, barefooter, elemental, green, healthy, cyclist, father, astronomer, Yogi, Tolle, humor, geek, more...
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

